A project will need to meet the below criteria to be eligible to apply to the PMI UK National Project Awards:

  1. The project can be of any size and type, from any industry, in public or private sectors
  2. The project needs to have originated in and have been managed in the UK
  3. The project must have been completed within the last two years
  4. Applications must be submitted in English
  5. The awards are open to everyone to apply. You do not need to be a member of PMI UK or any other professional project management organisation.
  6. Methodologies: Applications can include adherence to any of the following: PMI, Prince2, IPMA, Agile or any other.
  7. A single project can only be entered into a maximum of two categories.


  • Small to medium sized enterprise (SME) is defined as an organisation with 250 or less employees
  • Private company is defined as an organisation that is not owned or operated by the government
  • Public sector is defined as an organisation that is owned or operated by the government or an agency including:
    1. Civil Service
    2. Defence
    3. Education
    4. Justice
    5. Health
    6. Local Authorities
    7. Non-commercial Government Agencies
  • Project professional is anyone who leads or contributes to a project. For example, project manager, programme director, business analyst.
  • Early in career project professional is an individual who typically has less than 3 years’ experience in project management.

Non-Eligible for the Awards

  • Board members of PMI UK
  • Chapter Committee members PMI UK
  • Members of the judging panel
  • Sponsors of any award category that they sponsor